21 Mines Win Sentinels of Safety Awards

Six Coal operations and 15 Metal/Non-Metal (M/NM) mines have been recognized under the Sentinels of Safety program for working more than 4,000 hours without a lost-time injury in 2011.

"The mines we honor today symbolize our industry's continuing efforts to make U.S. mining the safest in the world," said Frank McAllister, chairman and CEO of Stillwater Mining Co. and incoming chairman of the National Mining Association (NMA). "They serve as an inspiration to the entire industry for achieving that goal."  The awards were presented at a luncheon today at the MINExpo International trade show in Las Vegas.

Mines compete in 20 categories. Winners, states where they are located and the categories involved are (large company winners are listed first):

Coal Processing Facility

McElroy Prep Plant (WV), McElroy Coal Co.
EME Homer City Generation (PA), EME Homer City Generation

Surface Coal

Rosebud Mine & Crusher/Conveyer (MT), Westmoreland Mining, LLC
Centre County Strips (PA), Amfire Mining Company, LLC

Underground Coal

Dugout Canyon Mine (UT), Canyon Fuel Co., LLC
Bergholz 7 (OH), Rosebud Mining Co.

Bank or Pit

Preferred Sands of Wisconsin (WI), Preferred Sands of Wisconsin, LLC
Portable Crushing Plant No. 2 (MI), Carr Brothers & Sons, Inc. and Starrette Trucking Co. Pit (GA), Starrette Co., Inc.


Irwindale Rock Plant (CA), Hanson Aggregates Pacific Southwest, Inc.
Grove (KS), Cornejo & Sons, LLC

Metal/Nonmetal Mill

Mill Autoclave Operations (NV), Barrick Goldstrike Mines, Inc.
Milton Plant (PA), Hanson Aggregates Pennsylvania, LLC

Open Pit

Barrick Ruby Hill Mine, Open Pit Division (NV), Homestake Mining Co. of California
Kaufman-George Pit (IA), New NGC Inc.


Three Rivers Quarry (KY), Lafarge West, Inc.
Mallard Creek Quarry (NC), Martin Marietta Materials, Inc.

Underground Metal

Pend Oreille Mine (WA), Teck Washington Inc.
Fire Creek (NV), Small Mine Development, LLC

Underground Nonmetal

Cayuga Mine (NY), Cargill Deicing Technology
Parkville Mine (MO), Hunt Martin Materials, LLC

Sentinels of Safety awards were initiated in 1925 by then Commerce Secretary Herbert Hoover and are the nation's most prestigious awards for recognizing safety in coal and M/NM mines.

The foregoing is a service provided to subscribers of Sharpe's Point: On Mine Safety, Extracting Insights for Industry. Sharpe's Point: On Mine Safety is a publication of Sharpe Media LLC. 4519 34th Street S., Arlington, VA 22206-1914 Tel: 703-379-0652, Fax: 914-840-0716 e-mail:info@sharpespoint.com.  Copyright 2012, Sharpe Media LLC.  All Rights Reserved.